Our Easter Bunny Carrot and Zucchini Cake

This is going to be a quick and easy post. Someone had posted this cute little bunny and I decided that we just had to try it. Since we have a new renter who has been bugging me, literally, for MONTHS, for Zucchini bread…because that is what I made when I discovered that I loved to bake. I had a huge zucchini we had gotten from my mother-in-law’s garden and I made probably a dozen loaves of bread and took them to work…I decided to alter my carrot cake recipe when doing this little guy. His face is my regular Carrot Cake recipe and the ears and bow-tie are Zucchini cake. Once the batter was made, but before adding the carrots, I divided the batter into two equal portions and put 2 c. carrots into one portion and 2 cups zucchini into the other. I baked the cakes the day before I decorated them so they would have plenty of time to cool. The next day, I took the Zucchini cake (it is really easy to tell which is which because the zucchini cake will be lighter than the carrot cake) and got to work on it.  I use springform pans when I bake cakes so I can just take the sides off…I used the side ring of my pan and “cut out” the ears of the bunny by pressing the ring into a third of the cake so that it made the ear shape…I did the same thing on the opposite side of the cake to make the second ear. What you have left is literally shaped like a bow-tie (can you guess what that is for).

Bunny Cake

I decorated the carrot portion of the cake first and used the frosting to “glue” the ears and tie in place. This was a super fun project because Brianna and I were able to sit and decorate the cake together. It really was a special time for me because she is at that anti-parent stage, so anything I can do to spend a few extra hours with her is definitely worth it.

I am sure there is not many people out there with a platter that is big enough to support this cake…I know I didn’t…so what I did was take a sturdy cardboard box (that was remaining from one of our many Costco runs) and cut the bottom out of it and covered it with tin foil…and whalaaaa, a custom-made platter! I know this is after Easter, and I should have posted this last week, but seeing as how I didn’t finish it until Easter morning, it is here now. I hope you all try it and enjoy it as much as my family did!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

